ALF Collectible Figures – Augie with the Family Dog Neep

This is a line I have been wanting to start collecting for a long time.

I remember when these hit the shelves, and my brother and I both had 2 each.  That meant that we had over 60% of the entire line.  There wasn’t much to the toys themselves, but for some reason I always liked them.  Each figure had no articulation, and came with a vehicle as an accessory.  The one exception is Augie, who came with the “family dog” Neep, instead of a vehicle.

004

On card, they’re not too expensive, but you’ll need to look around to make sure you’re not overpaying.  The example I have may have been resealed, as I spotted a hair inside of the packaging, and the bottom of the card seems to point to it being re-glued.  But this isn’t a huge issue, since I don’t consider this an investment.  I think I love the card just as much as the toy itself.  I would like to get the complete line MOC, but if I can find them loose at the right price, I’ll pick them up as well.

005

Augie is ALF’s little sister, and I believe this is derived from the animated series.  I haven’t seen any of the animated episodes in years, but I have been watching the live action show recently, and I haven’t heard any mention of her.  Although I just watched the pilot this morning, and he ALF did mention Skip.  I’m not an ALF expert, but I am a fan.

These figures were released in 1987, and manufactured by Coleco.  Coleco had some pretty cool licenses in the 80’s, but went out of business in 1989.

If you look closely on the back of the card, it states “Manufactured for Coleco Industries, Inc. Amsterdam, NY 12010”.  Well, Amsterdam is a short 30 minute drive from my house.  I am in the area frequently, and have been aware of the Coleco factory for years, but have only recently did more than just drive past.

CAM00019

The above photo was taken by me on a recent trip through Amsterdam.  Even though the company has been gone for more than 20 years, the logo is still on the side of the still-standing factory.  I figured some of you would appreciate this little piece of toy history, as I found it pretty interesting myself.

3 Responses to “ALF Collectible Figures – Augie with the Family Dog Neep”

  1. Love the fact that the Coleco name is still there.

  2. I liked Alf and his cartoon, it was funnier than the series.
    My latest find in a street market: a Monster Inc Randall minifig. I always wanted one 😀

Leave a Reply

