Transformers : Robots in Disguise – Starscream

It’s been a long time in the making, but her it finally is!  This is where the majority of my Game & Watch earnings went to.

001

004

Starscream has long been a figure I’ve wanted to add to the collection.  While I would love to add more vintage G1 figures, a lot of the more recent figures are pretty nice looking.

It took me a while to finally pull the trigger, because I didn’t want to regret my decision a few minutes later.  I must have searched for a week, looking at many different figures from various lines, before I finally settled on Transformers.  And then it took a few days before I decided on who I was specifically looking for.  Soundwave was out of the question, because I am only intersted in a tapedeck version, which carry price tags that I;m not comfortable with for figures in fair to good condition.

002

003

This particular version is a mold that has been used quite a few times over the years, but still looks very nice.  I also love that this version has the old-school rub-sign.

005

I also like that the the “Null-Ray Cannons” are spring-loaded.

007

The colors are pretty G1-accurate, and the plane mode looks fantastic!  I do love the the old-school figures that I grew up with, but you can’t look at this figure and say it’s not an improvement.

008

And as you have probably suspected, I love the robot mode as well.

006

It’s a great likeness, and the transformation process isn’t all that complicated.  My only gripe(as is with the other seekers), is that the wings get in the way of the “null-rays”, limiting their range of movement.  But, I guess you can’t win them all.

007

I can’t complain about the figure at all, even with my 1 small gripe, as it is still a very cool figure.  I’m sure every fan of the G1 series has an appreciation of the cowardly Decepticon(plus Chris Latta’s voice-over work was top notch!).

005

Now I just need to get Skywarp(preferably of the same mold), to round-out the trio of original seekers.

008

2 Responses to “Transformers : Robots in Disguise – Starscream”

  1. Most excellent Jason! A very good choice you made with this one. : )

  2. That’s a great mould to go for, I hope you get a Skywarp to match the set, they look great together.

Leave a Reply

