2014 Yard Sale Finds #2

Even though I hit the sales on Sunday, I was still able to find a little bit of everything.  But, by having to work Saturdays, I’m sure that I missed a few things.  But my wife will be keeping an eye out for me on the Saturdays she is able to hit the sales.  With that being said, let’s take a look at the goods.

20140603_203858[1]

First of all, I haven’t seen this movie in more than 20 years, and I’m not even sure I liked it.  But it has a few things going for it; it’s directed by Ron Howard(Richie Cunningham), it features Steve Guttenberg(Officer Carey Mahoney), and it’s from the eighties. But there will be no loss even if I absolutely hate it(which I’m sure I won’t), since it was free(it was in a free box, and it is in great cosmetic condition).

20140603_203633[1]

And what would yard sales be without a few fast food toys?  The Pokémon Game Boy toy is from 2000,and it only ran me 50 cents.  I’m, not sure if I want to keep it sealed, as I am a bit curious as to what toy it actually is.  The cat and dog on the pull-back couch is a Taco Bell toy from 1995.  There aren’t too many Taco Bell-centric toys I can think of, but this one is pretty cool looking, and, to me, fits the mid-nineties perfectly.  I found it in an antique gallery, and even though it was marked at 75 cents, they had it in the “Bargain Basement”, so it came to a total of 41 cents!  Money well spent!!  🙂

20140603_203756[1]

I did see quite a few decent figures, but the prices weren’t exactly yard-sale-priced, and a lot of the sellers didn’t want to move on the prices.  But I did come away with a few decent scores.  Beetlejuice was bundled with a PS1 game(which we’ll get to later), for $4, which would mean he cost me $2.  I found Ugnaught(Star Wars figure in the center), in a bin of Matchbox cars for 50 cents.  I will never refuse a vintage Star Wars figure for 50 cents, and it’s the icing on the cake when it’s a figure that I don’t already own.  Twitch, from Toy Story 3, was bundled with a PS 1 game as well(and these were 2 totally different sales), and only cost me 25 cents.  I don’t know if it’s bootleg, but this one’s got 2 right hands.  The only marking I’ve located is on the lower back, and it just says Disney/Pixar, with “China” under it.

20140603_204422[1]

Both of the boxes you see above a full of early-nineties hockey cards.  They were in a shed at a gift shop type place, and I was chatting up one of the proprietors ,and happened to mention that I saw the boxes of cards in there.  He said that he would only need a dollar or 2 to take them all, as they had been there for years.  For $1.08, I came away with what you see above.  The Garbage Pail Kids were a bonus, as I only found them while I was taking pictures.  The autographed card is of Radek Bonk, who was a pretty high pick in his draft class, but didn’t have too much of an impact in the NHL.  I’ll always remember him just because of Bonk’s Adventure.  🙂

20140603_204022[1]

As you can see, with the exception of the Dark Knight comic, the other 2 are in pretty rough shape.  The lady selling them wanted $2 each, and most of what she had was in horrible condition.  Now, condition isn’t a huge deal, if the price is right.  But there is no way I would pay close to $2 per issue for these comics in this condition.  I countered with 2 for $1, and she just said that she would rather not.  I re-countered with 3 for $2, and she still said she’d rather not .  At this point I told her that I was not interested paying any more than my final offer of $2 for the 3 comics.  Shortly before I left her sale, she found me, and said that her boyfriend would do the 3 for $2.  It’s just ridiculous what people value certain things.

CAM00719[2]

And as you may have guessed, these are the 2 different PS1 game I bundled with the action figures we saw earlier.  I have never played either, but both look like they could be fun to play.  If we break it down with what I bundled them with, we’re looking at a total of $2.75 for the games, and a grand total of $5 for the games and 2 figures.

Not a bad haul, and definitely a good time.  And to think, the season has only really just begun.  There is a weekly flea market/swap meet that happens every Sunday close to where I live, that I plan on hitting up in the next few weeks.  I have high hopes for this, as deals are usually a-plenty, but we’ll see.

 

One Response to “2014 Yard Sale Finds #2”

  1. Alright Jason fun cool finds.

Leave a comment